Spain

Having to travel quite often as a young boy, my life has been very eventful. Many exciting things have happened and I have enjoyed every bit of it. One of the most memorable moments in my life was when I traveled to Barcelona, Spain in 2012.

Spain is has a very rich culture and so many amazing places to visit, that it took me 15 days just to travel through the region of Catalunya that is located in North east of Spain.  Having to live and travel in Europe, I recommend Spain as one of the first destinations.  Here are some of the places and activities that I recommend in the Catalunya region.

  • Barcelona:  The capital of Catalunya and the second largest city in Spain after Madrid.

    spain-barcelona

    spain-barcelona

  • Sagrada Família: A large Roman Catholic Church in Barcelona, designed by Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí. The church is one of the most amazing and magical places I have ever visited.Sagrada Familia a
  • Camp Nou :  known as The new camp, in English and home to FC Barcelona, is one of Europe’s biggest and most popular soccer stadiums.  Visiting this stadium meant a great deal to me, as I have been a big supporter of this club since early ages.CAMP-NOU
  • Montserrat: a mountain top monastery in Catalonia. Located on top of an unusual rock mountain, it is very popular among Catalans, and Catholic pilgrims come from far and wide to see the Black Madonna.monserat
  • Girona: is an ancient town several thousand years old in Catalonia. Also, home of most popular Spanish wineries. Girona is also home of CAVA, which is a sparkling wine from grapes that only grow in this region of the world.

    wine tasting Gironaunderground wine caves

  • Sitges: a beautiful city by the Mediterranean Sea, Sitges offers amazing views from the beach. Sitges is also home to Casa Bacardi that is the home of founder of the Bacardi Company now turned into a museum and lounge.

sitges-Catalonia casa bacardigrandson of BacardoOriginal Bacardi tbe

 

These places are the ones that I found most interesting and intrigued by. Of course, there are hundreds of other places in Catalunya that are just as amazing and must be visited.

One thought on “Spain

  1. I am so jealous! Spain is one of my favorite countries, and it is right at the top of places I want to travel to! It looks absolutely beautiful! I haven’t been able to go out of the country much, but one day I hope to get to explore Europe pretty thoroughly. Thanks for sharing this experience, it looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

