Football aka Soccer

Soccer is a sport that I have been passionate about since I was a kid. I have played soccer all my life and have followed it very seriously. Although never made it to a professional level, I have played at high school and local league level. Soccer is the best sport in the world regardless of what people say and think.   It requires a lot more skill, it is the most popular sport in the world, and it is different than all the other sports.

Soccer isn’t like other sports where you can catch a ball, throw a ball, or hold a stick in your hand to hit the ball.  You need a lot more skills to play soccer; you need to run constantly, have great foot skills along with knowing how to use the rest of your body, and also be able to see what’s going to happen before it does to make plays.   On average a soccer player runs about seven miles per game.
Have you ever heard of the World Cup or the Champions League?   I’m sure you have, because these two events are the biggest competitions in the world, also the most watched sport.   A lot of counties outside of North America live and breathe soccer from there youth to the elderly.
Soccer is so different then playing other sports. During games the rivalry is intense and emotions are high.  When you make a perfect pass or score a goal the feelings that you get are so overwhelming that it gives you goose bumps.   A soccer game is not about an individual player.  It’s not just about how many goals a team scores but how well they play the game and the kind of plays they set up.
Not only do people get paid a lot in football, baseball, and basketball, but also in soccer.   If you’re a super star then you will get paid even better then the top athletes in the other sports. Leonel Messi and Christiano Ronaldo are the top two highest paid soccer players, Messi’s salary is thirty one million a year and Ronaldo’s salary is thirty million a year.   You might not be the best player in the world but there are so many teams around the world, making it easier to land a paid career playing soccer. FC Barcelona  from Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain; and , Juventus FC from Turin, Italy are the two clubs that I am a fan of. In 2012, one of dreams came true when I visited CampNou , home to FC Barcelona. It was a very emotional moment for me. I would compare the feeling to a New York Yankee’s fan visiting Yankee stadium for the first time, or a life long Boston Red Sox fan visiting Fenway park for the first time.

JUVENTUS Cerimonia Inaugurazione del Nuovo Stadio Della Juventus FC-Barcelona-2013-HD-Wallpapers fc-barcelona-camp-nou

One thought on “Football aka Soccer

  1. Reading this reminded me of my own family because my brother and father feel the exact same way about everything you wrote in this entry. My brother loves soccer so much that he bought his 1 year old son the Barcelona jersey, and he is determined to take him to soccer lessons as soon as he is old enough. When people see my nephew, they can’t deny that he will be a soccer player in the future because he is always kicking soccer balls around, and he is such a natural at it.

    I think it’s great that you have such a strong passion for a sport, but I personally have never liked soccer because I think the games are so long and boring. The players only make 2 or 3 goals during the entire game. If I watch it for more than ten minutes, I get so annoyed because I keep waiting for something exciting to happen and it never does. My dad actually punishes my nieces by making them sit through and watch entire soccer games when they misbehave. His method actually works because by the end of the game they’re so bored, and they’re scared to do anything to get in trouble and be forced to watch another game.

Leave a Reply

